Nigeria, 43 Other Countries To Meet In El Salvador To Discuss Bitcoin

President Nayib Bukele of El Salvador has announced a meeting of 44 countries to discuss Bitcoin and other topics.

This was made known on Sunday night by Nayib Bukele via his official Twitter handle, saying the meeting will take place in El Salvador.

Although, the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) had consistently warned against trading in crypto and issued a directive to banks to close accounts of persons or entities involved in cryptocurrency transactions

Delegates from 44 countries, consisting of 32 central banks and 12 financial authorities, would meet in El Salvador to talk about financial inclusion, digital economy, banking the unbanked and the country’s Bitcoin adoption.

El Salvador, a country in South America, was the first to adopt Bitcoin as legal tender.

The Central African Republic is the first African country and the second in the world to make Bitcoin an official currency alongside its local currency.

He said, “Tomorrow, 32 central banks and 12 financial authorities (44 countries) will meet in El Salvador to discuss financial inclusion, digital economy, banking the unbanked, the #Bitcoin rollout and its benefits in our country,” the tweet reads in part.

Most of the central bankers for the meeting will come from Africa, South America, and South Asia.

The countries include Nigeria, Egypt, Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Kenya, Namibia, Uganda, Rwanda, Paraguay, Angola, Guinea, Madagascar, Dominican Republic, among others.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *