PDP Primaries: Dino, Gyang Lose Bid To Return To Senate

Senator Dino Melaye has lost the Peoples Democratic Party ticket for Kogi West Senatorial District to his contender, Hon Teejay Yusuf.

Melaye represented Kogi West on the platform of the All Progressives Congress during the 8th Assembly.

In a rerun of the PDP primary yesterday, Yusuf polled 163 votes to beat Melaye who scored 99 votes.

Speaking shortly after the exercise, Yusuf, a member representing Kabba-Bunu/Ijumu Federal Constituency, described his victory as the will of God.

Also, Senator Istifanus Gyang, who represents Plateau North in the Senate, lost his bid for the party’s ticket to a House of Representatives member, Simon Mwadkwon.

Mwadkwon scored 119 votes to defeat the incumbent Gyang, who scored 99 votes.

In Kaduna, popular philanthropist, Lawal Adamu Usman, aka Mr LA, defeated five aspirants to emerge as the PDP candidate for Kaduna Central.

Also, a former federal lawmaker, Barrister Khalid Ibrahim Soba, won the party’s ticket for Kaduna North.

While Lawal Adamu emerged with a total of 99 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ibrahim Usman, popularly known as Sardauna Badarawa who scored 84 votes, Soba emerged unopposed.In Benue, a former minister of Interior, Senator Abba Moro, clinched PDP’s ticket for Benue South senatorial contest.Moro scored 179 votes to defeat ex-member of House of Representatives, Hassan Saleh and former member of State Assembly, Joseph Ojobo who had 73 and 52 votes respectively.

A former Bayelsa State governor, Senator Seriake Dickson, yesterday, won his bid for the PDP ticket for the Bayelsa West senatorial contest.He polled 57 votes to defeat his sole rival, Donald Daunemigha, who scored three votes. Mohammed Onawo, a former federal legislator, won PDP’s ticket for Nasarawa South.He scored 88 votes to defeat his closest rival, a former director-general of the National Orientation Agency (NOA), Mr Mike Omeri, who polled 76 votes.

Kano’s renowned female politician, Laila Buhari won the party’s ticket to contest Kano Central senatorial seat.She scored 323 votes to defeat Danburam Abubakar Nuhu, who got three votes.This is the sixth time Laila Buhari is contesting Kano Central senatorial seat.

After an initial confusion trailing the exercise in the three senatorial districts of Lagos State, the three flag-bearers of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have emerged.

Otunba Segun Adewale, popularly known as Aeroland, emerged the winner of the party’s primary for Lagos West.

For Lagos East, Mr Nicholas Akobada clinched the ticket.

Mr Daniel Ochu-Baiye, the chairman of the PDP Electoral Committee/Returning Officer for the senatorial primary election, said Akobada scored 74 votes to defeat his closest rival, Yeye Agnes Adenike-Shobajo who polled 63 votes.

For Lagos Central, Mr Wale Gomez was declared winner amidst controversy.

It was learnt that the election was initially scheduled to hold at 67, Adelabu Street Surulere but was moved to another venue.

Some of the delegates said before they arrived at the new venue, the primary had already been concluded and Gomez declared the winner.

By: Tijani Labaran (Lokoja), Abdullateef Aliyu (Lagos), Yusufu Idegu (Jos), Lami Sadiq and Abubakar Mohd (Kaduna), Hope Abah Emmanuel (Makurdi), Salim Ibrahim (Kano), Umar Muhammed (Lafia) & Bassey Willie (Yenagoa)

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *